READ: Scott Osburn on the Link Between Career and UMEM

Lights-All-Night-Logo-2011

“UMEM and its directors are the reason I have been able to build a successful career in the entertainment business.

Entering my sixth year of owning and operating a live event and festival production/promotion company, I often look back at my time at UMEM. The music business must be taught through first-hand experience for the most part. UMEM gave me the tools and know-how needed to navigate this relationship-based and close-knit business.

One of the most important lessons I learned from the instructors and the program is ethics.  As we all live in such a fast-paced and ambitiously aggressive business society, our ethics are often tested. I look back at the past years and can count numerous times where I had an opportunity to follow the fast path.  Looking back at the stories, real-life scenarios and understanding of potential downfalls from such behaviors that were taught at UMEM were vital.

Today more than ever it is important to have a good sense of self and a ferociousness to survive in this business. But as soon as you begin to compromise your moral integrity, you not only cheat yourself, you cheat the people that helped you get there. Without Tom Webster’s commitment to helping me grow my career, the charisma of Scott Douglas and support of my classmates I would not be where I am today.”

Leave a Reply

